The Singularity of Life

And how it forms a writer’s block.

 

The time when I could say ‘I’ve just returned from South Africa’ has come and gone. As described in my previous post, it is as if I’ve just returned and it is in the distant past. All at the same time.

Most of you probably know the feeling. You have a plan, for me writing is a big part of it, and live by it as long as you can. Then your surroundings or other conditions change and so does your own life. The big ideas you had before are sucked in an ‘endless’ void called life.

For me that’s no different story. Since my ex-former-employer took me back, life has become a rollercoaster. I just got used to the idea of spending a longer period of time with my parents. Doing the long walks with the dog, visiting friends and family. Basically enjoying the good life and chasing ‘wants’.

You can make work fit within this way of life. I’ve done something like it, before I went to South Africa, so I could do it again. There was one major difference though. I was used to go home after my shift had ended and do my own thing and start it all over the next day. Work hard, play hard.

Now, however, it feels more like ‘Lots of work, little play.’ My current job takes me far from home. Being present at the office during the day, and after work I stay at a vacation park with collegues. We have a lot of fun in the evenings so I’ll manage to get through it with a smile, however I got blown off course and need to find my bearings again.

That’s just one external factor when it comes to my writing. A ‘small’ obstacle to overcome in order to free up time for stuff that matters, like writing. Step one, do a blogpost. Step two complete the damned book 😉

The second are internal factors. Usually these are small things which add up. Stuff you promised ‘to do some time’ or your mind which just wanders to unproductive places. Staying focussed is a tricky thing. On top of all those small things you think you have to do, are the things you try to avoid but keep thinking about. It helps to put those little things down on paper and thereby filing it in your to-do pile.

Time to go to the root of the writer’s block. Its not work or the small things crossing your path every now and then. The major thing that keeps me from writing are matters of the heart. Even putting it out here on WP is a step in the right direction. Giving it perspective and gaining insight on this mysterious part of life. It is, at least for me, the main ‘issue’. The place where my head wanders the most even when it is not supposed to. The thing I need to clarify before my head can go back to the adventures of Martin and Cithea.

Leave a Reply

